Coastal Division

The jurisdiction of the Coastal Division stretches along the entire Flemish coast. Not only the beaches, dunes, and dikes, but also the marinas and fishing ports of Nieuwpoort, Oostende, Blankenberge and Zeebrugge fall within the scope of the department. The Flemish Hydrography Team performs its duties within the boundaries of the Belgian Continental Shelf and on the river Scheldt all the way to Antwerp and Wintam.

The day-to-day management of the Coastal Division is assumed by the management team:

  • lic. Caroline Lootens, head of the Division
  • ir. Peter Van Besien, Director of Coastal Infrastructure
  • ir. Koen Vanstaen, Director of Flemish Hydrography
  • ing. Steve Timmermans, advisor Coastal Marinas
  • Dirk Dufour, Director of Internal Affairs


The Coastal Division aims for optimal service for its customers, partners, and citizens. Expert and experienced administrative, technical, and legal support help achieve that goal.

Through the use of professional personnel who continuously undergo training, we are committed to performing our duties in the most effective and adequate manner.

Good cooperation with our Flemish colleagues, the provincial government, the coastal municipalities and cities, as well as with the users of the coastal ports (marinas), is essential.

Learn more about Coastal Division